Our National Flag

The national flag of India is a tricolour with a deep saffron colour at the top, white in the centre and dark green at the base in the same proportion. In the centre of the white band is a wheel, in navy blue colour. This wheel is taken from the abacus of the Sarnath Lion Capital of Asoka. It has 24 spokes. The design of the flag was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on July 22, 1947, and presented to the nation on August 14, 1947.

The colours in the flag have no communal importance. The flags are made from cotton khadi, they are hand-spun made of wool and silk. A policy has been devised which regulates the use and display of the flag. The damaged flags are never displayed. They should not be used as a piece of an outfit or uniform. According to the court as long as the citizen is not discourteous to the flag, he can use it.

All the citizens have the right to hoist the national flag on his or her building or vehicles only on Independence Day and the Republic day. The right to use the flag on other days are restricted only to the President, Central and State Ministers and the Governors.